Salt-Baked Potatoes (and melty-roasted garlic) or Yes, This Blog is Still Alive

salt-baked potatoesYes, team, this blog is still alive.  I know, I know “where have you been?!”  Well, I’ve lost a job, gained a job, lost a sibling (;*(, gained a puppy, gained a son-in law, geeze, it’s been crazy busy.  Mr. Cheese and I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary in January with a quiet night at home.  Well, quiet if you discount the music we swayed to while we cooked and enjoyed drinks by candle light.  On the menu was steak au poivre, asparagus (peee eeeuww!), BLT salad, and baked potatoes.  But not just any baked potatoes. 

Mr. Cheese read a recipe in the September & October 2011 edition of Cooks Illustrated magazine, about salt-baked potatoes that he wanted to try.  The idea is that the salt retains moisture during cook time so the skins don’t dry out, while the inside of the potato remains moist but still fluffy.  We passed on the article’s suggestion to throw in rosemary, but all hail the garlic bulb, so we threw in two for good measure.  Who doesn’t love garlic?  Except, you know, vampires and anti-italians.   

The potatoes were tuber-licious (I know, I’m lame) but newsflash:  beware of bubbling garlic.  Me:  “Mr. Cheese, look!  The garlic is all bubbly and stuff!  That’s awesome!”  Mr. Cheese:  “Wow!  That’s going to taste fabulous!”  Wrong.  Epicurean fail.  When your garlic bubbles out of the papery sleeve, it means that once it cools down, you will be presented with a rock-hard mess of garlic that you won’t be able to spread, yet alone get out of the encasing to eat.  eck!  About 50% of our garlic survived and was a gooey, melty, buttery mess that was every bit of heaven when eaten on buttery bread.  Thankfully, Mr. Cheese let me eat that 50% while he watched.  Happy Anniversary to me. 

Salt-Baked Potatoes & Gooey-Roasted Garlic                                                                  adapted from Matthew Card in Sept./Oct. 2011 Cook’s Illustrated

  • 1 1/4  cups salt + a pinch
  • 2 russet potatoes
  • 2 heads garlic, top sliced off, outer most layer removed
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons butter

How to Make It!one potato two potato

Preheat oven to 450 degrees and make sure the rack is in the middle level of the oven.  Spread the salt in a baking dish large enough to accommodate the potatoes and garlic.  Place the potatoes in the salt, leaving room between each potato.  Add the garlic, open side up, and nestle the potatoes and garlic into the salt.  Cover with foil and bake for 1 1/4 hours.  

Remove pan and increase temperature to 500 degrees.  Remove foil, remove garlic and set the garlic aside to cool.  Brush the exposed part of each potato with olive oil and return the baking dish to the oven, uncovered, and bake until tender or about 15 to 20 more minutes.  Load your potato with whatever you want and drool over the gooey-melty garlic.  Serves 2, or 4 bird-like anorexics.   

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in garlic, Home, how-to, potatoes, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Salt-Baked Potatoes (and melty-roasted garlic) or Yes, This Blog is Still Alive

  1. Sounds like a hectic time, but good to see you back. Happy belated anniversary!

  2. Rich says:

    love the pee eeuww part this blog is the shiznit !!!!!!!!!

  3. I stumbled on this place a little while ago and I seriously cannot get enough!
    Please keep writing!

Leave a Reply

