Sausage Fried Rice w/Homemade Soy Sauce

Sausage Fried RiceA couple of months ago, I was way too excited about buying some polish sausage from a friend and ended up with about 8 pounds of the stuff in my freezer.  It is some pretty incredible sausage, but it has taken over our household.  When all else fails and that ever popular question “what’s for dinner?” has no quick answer, sausage is the go-to ingredient for us.       polish sausage

In an effort to lower that inventory, I rounded up some other odds and ends last night and found I had everything I needed to make a delicious fried rice but was completely out of soy sauce.  This can’t be!  How can you make fried rice with no soy sauce?!  Rather than switch gears, I looked it up on-line and found a homemade soy sauce recipe sans soy.  Crazy as it sounds, it tasted spot-on!  The perfect tang of sweet and salty.  Thank you Misshomemade for the recipe, because my Sausage Fried Rice would not have been the same without it.     

Sausage Fried Rice w/Homemade Soy Sauce                                                             soy sauce recipe courtesy of Miss Homemade

  • 2 & 1/2 cups cooked white rice
  • 2 Tablespoons sesame oilSFR Mise en place
  • 1 leek, small chop
  • 1/4 Vidalia onion, small dice
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 1 pound polish sausage, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Tablespoons homemade soy sauce (recipe here)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar

How to Make It!

Heat a large wok or frying pan over medium-high heat and add the sesame oil.  Once hot, add the vegetables and let cook until softened, about 1-2 minutes.  Add the sausage and cook for another 3-5 minutes or so, until done.  The pieces will be small and the pan should be very hot, so it will not take long to cook.  Meanwhile, scramble the eggs together in a small bowl. 

Wok SFR

Push the sausage and veggies toward the sides of the wok or pan, and add the scrambled egg to the center of the pan.  Allow them to cook for a minute, then stir throughout.  Once the egg is about cooked, add the rice and toss to mix. 

The idea is to stir the ingredients in a way that combines them but doesn’t mush the rice.  Give it 2-3 minutes for the rice to heat through, then add the soy sauce and toss to coat.  Finally, toss in the scallions and allow another minute to heat through.  Serves 4 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in food, Home, how-to, international cuisine, leeks, pork, recipes, rice, sausage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sausage Fried Rice w/Homemade Soy Sauce

  1. hanna505 says:

    I love making homemade fried rice! This is a great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
    Great Blog BTW!

    From,
    A Fellow Blogger/foodie

  2. Pingback: Zing Up Your Lentil & Sausage Soup with Pesto! | tossing the swiss around

Leave a Reply

