Brownies & Strawberry Preserves

Delicious!!I recently took a cue from this guy and used  Hammy’s 2 quarts of fresh strawberries to make homemade preserves.  Either I am really, really good at cooking or preserves are very easy to make.  Hammy even said partway through the cooking process “if this works, you are quitting your job and we are going into business!”  While the preserve making went just fine, I am happy to announce that I remain gainfully employed. 

Once I figured out how to make preserves, I knew we would want to incorporate them with some sort of chocolate.  Feeling super tired one night, but still wanting to make the  recipe, I spontaneously grabbed a box of brownie and cookie dough mix off the shelf, at the local grocer’s.  I guess the idea was to drop dollops of cookie dough mix into the brownie batter, then bake.  Since I am not a baker, Hammy and I agreed this would have to be the official Strawberry Preserve Delivery Method for us.  We would make the mix, stir in strips or whatnot of preserve into the finished product, prior to baking, and viola!  The end result was a rich, perfect balance between fudgy brownie, cookie dough and sweet, fresh strawberry.  

Brownies & Strawberry Preserves

  • 2 quarts of fresh strawberries
  • 4 cups of sugarstrawberry
  • 1 packet of fruit pectin (or 3 ounces) 
  • 1 box brownie mix plus eggs and oil or whatever the brownies call for.  OR, if you are a fabulous baker, make them from scratch.

How to Make It!

Rinse the strawberries and pat dry with clean paper towels, then ‘hull’ or cut out the green top from each strawberry.  Put them in a blender or food processor (the berries, not the green tops) and puree, but still leave a little bit chunky. 

Put the pureed strawberries in a pot over medium-high heat and bring to a boil.  Add the sugar and stir gently but constantly, until it is completely dissolved.  Following directions on the pectin wrapper (some are in powder form and need mixing with water, while some come in liquid form), add the liquid pectin to the strawberries and stir constantly, allowing to boil for another 60-90 seconds.  Remove from the heat and ‘skim’ or take off any bubbled foamy material from the top of the preserves. 

At this point, I poured the strawberries into a big, beautiful white Corning Ware container and let them chill on the counter for a while.  Once the brownies were prepared, I drizzled the preserves throughout the mix and baked them at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes.  Then, the Hammy and I ate all of the brownies.  And they were good.  

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brownies & Strawberry Preserves

  1. Ha, I’m “this guy”! What a cool idea. I’m also quite pleased I converted you to the jam side. Isn’t it great? I love this recipe!

Leave a Reply

