Curried Carribean Chicken w/ Mango Salsa

Curried Carribean Chicken w/Mango SalsaMost of us have a membership to those super-warehouse stores that sell cheese, butter and the like in 10 pound blocks.  Mr. Cheese cannot exit our local big box without spending a couple hundred dollars and last week was no exception.  I came home from the office to find a box of 6 ginormous mangoes.  My mind started racing “mango shakes, mango preserves, uh, roasted….mango?”  Pressure.  What the hell was I going to do with 6 huge mangoes?   

I figured it out real quick when I began to cut into them and realized the pit was not part of the solution, at all.  While these guys looked big, the amount of edible meat that resulted was just enough to make a tasty mango salsa.  Paired with a curried Caribbean chicken recipe I’ve been wanting to try, it seems Mr. Cheese brought home just the right amount of mangoes to do the job. 

Curried Caribbean Chicken                                                                                           adapted from the New England Cookbook by Brooke Dojny

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 Tablespoons white wine vinegar (we use Virginia Vinegar Works)
  • 1/4 cup diced scallionsBowl of Mango Cubes
  • 2 Tablespoons cashews, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 2 Tablespoons curry powder
  • 2 Tablespoons ginger, fresh grated
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

How to Make It!

In a large bowl, mix all ingredients except the chicken.  Add the chicken and put all in a large freezer bag and marinade in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours.  Remove the chicken and cook on the grill, about 6-8 minutes per side, until no longer pink.  Serves 4 to 6 

Mango Salsa

  • 3 large mangoes, diced (unless you eat copious amounts of this stuff, then use 6)
  • 2 large tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 Vidalia onion, minced
  • 1 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon jalapeno pepper, minced (no seeds or stems)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons lime juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, to taste

How to Make It!

I admit, I had never cut into a mango before making this salsa, and now I know why.  The mango pit seems to have cornered the market and doesn’t leave much room for the meat, itself.  Once you’re done wrestling with the mango and get all the meat you can, mix all ingredients – gently – in a large bowl and allow to sit in the refrigerator for an hour or so, to let the flavors blend.  Serves 8

 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Curried Carribean Chicken w/ Mango Salsa

  1. That looks great! We’re kind of having the same issue with tomatoes from the garden right now. It’s a fun issue to have.

  2. Karen says:

    Your chicken with the salsa sounds great. When we lived in Florida, people were always giving me mangos…the mango trees are huge and have hundreds of fruit all at once. Here in Maine, I haven’t seen a mango at our little market. I’ll make your recipe and substitute peaches.

  3. Becky Lynn says:

    Ah I wish I’d get a big box of mangoes as a surprise in my kitchen but my bf doesn’t like them so that’ll never happen. This looks DELICIOUS!

Leave a Reply

