MUFAs, PUFAs, and EFAs, Oh My!

'sassy' prepPardon my lack of posting but I have been less than enthusiastic about food lately, because I am eating less of it.  Yeah, that’s right.  I bought the book.  Not because I am vain, but strictly because I no longer wish to suck in my belly so I can hide the 6-month preggo look.  No, I am not pregnant (ahem, THANK YOU, JESUS!) but tell that to my ever-so-bloaty-belly.  The goal is to be rid of the Buddha Belly. 

According to people who know my plight, it is due to the ‘female thing’, or stress.  They see what I eat and know I work out, yet I will gain weight where another normal person might lose a few pounds.  And it seems it’s all in the belly.  I was down to under 1000 calories a day to try to curb the issue but no.  Nothing doing.  Starvation or eating correctly, working out consistently or slacking around, various legal pharmeceuticals ifyouknowhatimean.  I have tried everything in the past month, to no avail.  

That being said, I finally pulled out the book.  The Flat Belly Diet from the Editors of Prevention.  Yes, it works.  Today is day seven and I feel fabulous.  Mr. Cheese pleaded for me to get on the scale last night and while I agree that a good portion of the 8 pounds I lost in a week’s time is likely water weight, my stomach is definitely smaller and I am feeling more energetic. 

The book explains the difference between good fats and bad fats and encourages readers to enjoy their favorite ‘MUFAs’, or monounsaturated fatty acids.  These can be found in different categories such as olives, oils, nuts & seeds, and yes – dark chocolate.  Sounds like this eating plan is right up my alley.  The book goes on to talk more about the difference between good fats and bad fats, including saturated fat and essential fatty acids.  All this talk of fat is sure making me hungry.

Now I am not one for diets.  Never have been.  I grew up in an italian-style ‘clean your plate’ household, where dessert would not be had until every crumb was eaten.  Thank goodness the folks at Prevention did their research and put together some tasty dishes in the book, so you aren’t deprived.  Ginger Shrimp Wrap with Snow Peas, Ricotta Calzone with Marinara, and even Peanut Butter and Banana on an English Muffin, for breakfast.  That’s good stuff. 

My very favorite recipe from the book is also the most simple – Sassy Water.  Granted, the name is a little cheesy (but so is this blog).  I cringed at the thought of drinking this water, but one sip and I was hooked.  I imagine it is something that would be served at the end of a long, blissful day at a spa, or frankly what should be served after a colonoscopy.  Whoever said plain water is the ‘nectar of the Gods’, clearly has never tasted this beverage.  Thin-sliced lemons, cucumber, ginger and mint leaves resting together overnight in a pitcher, then strained.  Light.  Refreshing.  Perfect.    

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in avocado, chocolate, Cookbooks, healthy, how-to, reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MUFAs, PUFAs, and EFAs, Oh My!

  1. Eating healthy can be fun too. It’s so much easier in the summer. And the infused water trick is something my wife loves.

  2. Howdy Rufus! I am finding it fun to prepare the meals each day. We get the ingredients for about 3 or 4 days at a time so everything is pretty fresh. And I find I look forward to trying the new recipes. Can’t wait until my goal is reached, though. I’m ready to explore more fun, creative and interesting stuff for the bloggie. Happy summer!!

Leave a Reply

