(Not Quite) Quiche with Bacon, Leeks & Sun-dried Tomatoes

viola!I have a confession.  I cannot make a Quiche.  At least in the formal, French sense of the dish, which includes cream and such.  I am unable to produce an edible product following the traditional methods.  My end result looks like curdly baby dribble.  Appetizing, no? 

Rather than give up, Mr. Cheese suggested we simply take our no-fail Spinach Pie recipe and change-up the ingredients a bit.  In an effort to make the dish healthier, we swapped some of the whole eggs for egg whites.  What we got was a mouth-watering combination of flavors, suspended in perfectly cooked eggs.  This will surely be our new ‘go-to’ dinner, for a while. 

(Not Quite) Quiche with Bacon, Leeks & Sun-dried Tomatoes

  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 leeks, light green and white parts, thin sliced
  • 1/4 Vidalia onion, halved and very thin sliced
  • 8 eggs
  • 8 egg whitesdinner
  • 1/4 cup whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 Tablespoons sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms, diced
  • 4 slices bacon, cooked and chopped
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 9-inch pie crust
  • 1 egg yolk + 1 Tablespoon water

How to Make It!

In a small saute pan, heat some olive oil over medium heat and cook the leeks and onion until tender.  Set aside.  In another small pan, heat the remaining oil and saute the mushrooms until reduced and tender. 

In a large bowl, combine all of the eggs and egg whites, milk, nutmeg and salt and pepper.  Stir to mix thoroughly.  Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  In a small bowl, add 1 Tablespoon water to an egg yolk and stir to combine.  Brush this onto the outside of the pie crust, to give it a browned, shiny finish. 

Distribute the bacon, leeks, onion, mushrooms and tomatoes evenly in the pie crust, then pour the egg mixture on top.  Bake for about 25-35 minutes, until set.  I would like to say it serves 4, but if you are a hearty eater, like Mr. Cheese and myself, you and your better half may eat the entire thing.  So let’s say it serves 2. 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, eggs, food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (Not Quite) Quiche with Bacon, Leeks & Sun-dried Tomatoes

  1. Well, it still sounds good no matter what you call it!

Leave a Reply

