Jimmy Cracked Corn…Cakes!!

corn cakesI love corn fritters, or really any fritter for that matter, especially when warm, and lightly sprinkled with confectioner’s sugar.  But this recipe takes the corn cake from dessert to side dish when you add ricotta cheese to the batter.  Take it one step further and drizzle a cool, zesty tomato-based cream sauce on top for an absolute perfect flavor combination.  We enjoyed these on the side, with quick-fry pork chops and a salad of leafy romaine with raspberry vinaigrette and chopped walnuts. 

Corn Cakes with Creamy Tomato Salsa                                                                               adapted from The New California Cook by Diane Rossen Worthington

Salsa

  • 2/3 cup salsa
  • 2 Tablespoons sour cream

Corn Cakes

  • 4 Tablespoons butter, unsalted
  • 1/4 cup scallions, choppedscallions
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels

How To Make It!

Mix together the salsa and sour cream in a small bowl, cover and refrigerate. 

In a large frying pan, heat part of the butter over medium heat and cook the scallions until soft and lightly browned, about 6-8 minutes.  In a large bowl, lightly beat the eggs and mix in the ricotta cheese until well combined.  In a smaller bowl, mix together the flour, cornmeal, salt and pepper.  Slowly add the flour mix to the egg and ricotta mix, and stir until thoroughly combined and batter-like.  Do not over mix.  Fold in the corn kernels.  

Dinner!In the same large pan the scallions cooked in, heat butter over medium-high heat and add Tablespoon-sized dollops of batter to the pan.  Once the edges look lightly browned, after about 6-8 minutes, flip and allow to cook another 6-8 minutes.  Set on paper towels to drain.  Serve hot with creamy salsa – or sprinkled confectioner’s sugar, if you must.  Serves 8 – (This is a lie.  Mr. Cheese and I ate them all and pined for more.)  

 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, corn, food, recipes, sauces, sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jimmy Cracked Corn…Cakes!!

  1. Yum! And you always have the best titles too.

Leave a Reply

