What is Your ‘Go To’ Food? OR The Best Damn Fried Egg Sandwich, Ever!

smiling eggsEvery one has a ‘go to’ food.  For some, it’s that old staple of peanut butter and jelly from their childhood days, or the super easy to make ramen noodles, reminiscent of college days or summer breaks after swimming all day.  For others, when nothing else will do, it has to be mom’s meatloaf or a hearty serving of lasagne. 

For me?  Eggs, plain and simple.  Well, not so plain and simple, as there are probably a zillion things that can be done with the ‘incredible, eddible’ egg.  Growing up, my Uncle Jack would always make us these easy but crazy-good fried egg sandwiches.  I never forgot them and continued to rely on them as my stand-by through adulthood.  When the kids were teeny and I had a few years as a single mother, times were tight.  I could do breakfast, lunch and dinner with just a few bucks a week.  Eggs and bagels, cereal, mac and cheese, you get the idea.  Those kids loved eggs and bagels and to this day, still do the breakfast for dinner thing, on occasion. 

There used to be The Big Egg Scare, where scientists and nutritionists warned that too many eggs would surely spike our cholesterol through the roof and potentially contribute to an early demise.  Of course, that was also said about the intake of water.  Water.  Nectar of the Gods.  Really? 

You can enjoy eggs in moderation, just remove the yolks on occasion.  For instance, when I make egg salad, I might use two whole eggs and two egg whites.  Same great taste minus some of the fat.  The same goes for scrambled eggs or omelettes.  Two egg whites is about the volume of one egg, so kill off some of those yolks and enjoy a delicious dish without the full fat of whole eggs. fried egg sandwich

One of my favorite ways to enjoy my ‘go to’ food is by way of the sandwich my Uncle Jack gave us as a kid.  Back then we ate whatever bologna was given to us, as did every other kid, I think.  Now that I know better, I only eat the stuff when I make this sandwich and I make sure it’s 100% beef.  The key to this is the mayonnaise and the runniness of the yolks.  Hot diggity, I might just go make one, now. 

The Best Damn Fried Egg Sandwich, Ever!   

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 slices beef bologna
  • 4 thin slices of tomato
  • 2 slices American cheese
  • 2 Tablespoons light mayonnaise, (we use Hellman’s)
  • 4 slices toast (we use Arnold’s healthy multi-grain)
  • salt and pepper, to taste

How to Make It!

Put the olive oil in a large frying pan, over medium heat.  Once the oil is warmed up, add the eggs, being careful not to break the yolk.  Once the whites (albumen) are mostly cooked but still a touch runny, carefully turn the eggs over.  Allow to cook for another minute or two, then remove from the heat.  Add salt and pepper, to taste.  Meanwhile, in another pan, melt the butter over medium-high heat, then add the bologna.  Using a spatula, make inch-long cuts into the bologna, from the outside toward the center.  Do this about 3-4 times.  This prevents the bologna from ‘blowing up’ in the middle and allows it to lay flat while cooking.  Brown the bologna for about 3-4 minutes, then turn and cook for another 3-4 minutes.  Turn the heat down to medium-low and top each piece of bologna with cheese, allowing it to melt.  Toast the bread and spread mayonnaise on each piece.   

Assembly:  Toast, egg, bologna, cheese, tomato, toast.  Squish it together to have the egg yolk burst and run, making a big mess all over the plate.  You are now ready to partake in The Best Damn Fried Egg Sandwich, Ever!  Serves 2. (But I bet you’ll make more). 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in eggs, food, Home, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is Your ‘Go To’ Food? OR The Best Damn Fried Egg Sandwich, Ever!

  1. I do that mayo trick too. My wife hates it, but I love it. Great recipe, although I’d probably use Swiss or cheddar.:)

  2. dsgnmom says:

    Yummy! Here’s something you might like too!!!
    I gave you a blogger award. Check out my latest blog post to see which one it is. Congrats! http://dsgnmomonline.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/the-versatile-blogger-award-my-very-first-award/

  3. Rufus – You got it, it’s totally the mayo and runny yolk that makes this sandwich! 🙂

Leave a Reply

