Stuffed Pork Tenderloin with Pineapple, Fontina & Chives

stuffed pork tenderloinAs simple and insanely delicious as this recipe is, it has been a long time coming. It took Mr. Cheese and I a while to perfect the cooking of the pork tenderloin. I have never been a fan. For me, it goes back to that old problem of never having a bite of one that was properly prepared. Over the years, we have grilled them, roasted them, cut them up and fried them, to no avail. They were either over cooked and dried out, or under done. Finally, we discovered through the miracle of simple instruction on various packaging, that it takes an average of 25 to 30 minutes per pound at 425 degrees in the oven. Pretty simple.

We have been playing around with different stuffing ideas for pork and chose to stick with what works but mix it up with a little fontina, too.  The creaminess of the cheese rounded out the pineapple and garlic in the teriyaki perfectly.  I threw the chives in for color but their sharpness added a nice touch.  Over all, a fantastically delicious dinner.  Enjoyed with a side salad of baby spinach and walnuts with raspberry vinaigrette.   

Pork Tenderloin Stuffed with Pineapples, Fontina & Chives

  • ¼ cup low sodium soy saucepork preppage
  • ¼ cup pineapple juice
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup pineapple tidbits, in natural juices
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh chives, chopped
  • 1.25 pounds pork tenderloin
  • 4 ounces fontina cheese, shredded
  • ¼ cup low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • kitchen twine

How to Make It!

Cut the pork tenderloin in half, lengthwise. In a small bowl, mix together the pineapple bits, 1 teaspoon garlic powder and chives. Top the bottom half of the tenderloin with the pineapple mixture. Top with the shredded fontina cheese, then cover with the other half of the pork tenderloin. Tie together every couple of inches, with kitchen twine, to prevent the top from sliding off.

ready for the ovenIn a small bowl, whisk together soy sauce, pineapple juice, olive oil and 1 teaspoon garlic powder. Brush the entire tenderloin with this mixture, to include the bottom edges, until all used up. Sprinkle any left over pineapple bits around the tenderloin and add the chicken or vegetable broth to the pan. Cook at 425 degrees for 25-35 minutes, or until pink throughout. Pork is best when it is cooked until just done, not overcooked, otherwise it will dry out and become unpalatable.  It is suggested you check the internal temperature of the roast and consider it done when the center reaches 160 degrees farenheit.  Let rest out of the oven for about 5 minutes prior to serving. Serves 4.

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in cheese, food, pork, recipes, sauces and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

