Creamy Parsnip Stew w/Shrimp & Polish Sausage

Parsnip stew

Creamy Parsnip Stew w/Shrimp & Polish Sausage

parsnip soup

Basic Parsnip Soup (no meat or veggies)

The holidays left us fat and happy – and while I am not one to focus on the negative – the operative word there is fat.  So Mr. Cheese and I dug out some of our favorite cookbooks for inspiration and made a pact to stick to the menu for the week and reduce our snacking to a minimum.  One of the items on this week’s menu consisted of Spiced Parsnip Soup from the book 400 Best Ever Budget Recipes, edited by Lucy Doncaster.  I did not follow the recipe to a “t”, which I’m sure comes to no surprise for some of you who know me.   

We also wanted to enjoy some of the Polish sausage we had left from my friend Emily, so we decided on a sort of jambalaya mix of sausage, shrimp, peppers and celery.  We initially wanted to just eat that on the side, but once we sampled the soup, it was evident the meat and veggie mix would be fantastic with the parsnip flavor.  So we added the mix into the soup.  The soup was sweet and held the light parsnip taste, complimented by cumin.  The starchiness created the perfect consistency so the soup did not require a roux or any other kind of thickener.  Enjoy with homemade croutons or a baguette and small salad.     

Creamy Parsnip Stew w/Shrimp & Polish Sausage

  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 2 pounds parsnips, peeled and thin-sliced
  • 1 sweet onion, small chopveggies
  • 2 Tablespoons garlic, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons cooking sherry
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 small green pepper, chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, small dice
  • 1 pound polish sausage
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  •  pepper, to taste
  • green onions, chopped (to garnish)

How to Make It!

add stockIn a large pot, melt 2 tablespoons of butter over medium heat and cook the onions, parsnips and garlic for about 10-15 minutes or until softened.  Add the cooking sherry, stir and cook another 1-2 minutes.  Stir in the chicken stock, cumin and coriander and cover and let simmer on medium-low heat for about 20 minutes or until tender. 

Meanwhile, brown the Polish sausage in a frying pan over medium heat until cooked through, about 15 minutes. 

sausage and veggiesAdd the peppers and celery, allowing to cook another 5 minutes.  Add the shrimp about 5 minutes prior to putting the entire mixture into the soup.  Cook the shrimp for about 3-5 minutes until they turn opaque.  

Once the parsnip soup mixture is done cooking, use a food processor to puree it until smooth, then add back to the sauce pot.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  puree

Add the jambalaya mix of sausage, shrimp, peppers and celery to the parsnip stew.  If it is too thick, add a bit more chicken stock.  Too thin, add some roux or slurries.  (corn starch mixed with water).  Garnish with diced green onion.  Serves 8

add cream

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in food, parsnips, peppers, recipes, sausage, shrimp, soups, stew and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creamy Parsnip Stew w/Shrimp & Polish Sausage

  1. bigsischeese says:

    Hey kid, yet another recipe that I could probably master (or at least not screw up) AND enjoy! I just need to become motivated to cook! Keep up the good work, Becky! I LOVE YOU!

  2. Hey Mona! What about the pizza one? 🙂 You could master it and rival Ledo’s. Love you!!

  3. Pingback: Betty’s Cajun Shrimp and Sausage Jambalaya Recipe « The Cooking Channel

Leave a Reply

