Curried Crab Soup

Curried Crab SoupA perfect dish for a cold night or whatever ails you, curried crab soup is sure to hit the spot!  With just a short list of ingredients and a cozy afternoon in the kitchen, you will go from stove to dining in under 45 minutes.  What’s better, is how your family will swear you ordered it in from some 4-star restaurant down the street.  The layered flavors of curry and crab combine beautifully on the palate and are bitten slightly with a touch of Tabasco to warm the soul.  A small salad and a baguette are perfect compliments to round out the meal.  

Curried Crab Soup                                                                                                                        adapted from Souper Soups Cookbook 

  • 5 Tablespoons butter
  • 1 shallot, choppedmise en place
  • 4 Tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 3 Tablespoons sherry
  • 2/3 cup clam juice
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 1 cup light cream
  • 8 ounces crab meat
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon Tabasco sauce

How to Make It!

In a medium sauce pan melt the butter over medium-low heat, add the shallots and cook until tender, about 5 minutes.  Add the curry and flour and cook for about 2 minutes, stirring constantly. 

Add tomatoesAdd the sherry, continuing to stir, and cook for 1-2 minutes.  Stir in the stock and tomatoes and add the bay leaf.  Turn to a simmer and let cook until tomatoes are tender, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes. 

Remove the bay leaf and puree the tomato mixture with a food processor or a blender, until smooth.  I had originally planned to strain the soup through a sieve after blending, but there was no need since the skin and seeds were not an issue.  Slowly stir in the cream, then add the crab meat and Tabasco sauce.  Season with salt, to taste.  Serves 4 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Crab, curry, Seafood, soups and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

