A New Twist on a Holiday Staple: Sweet Potato Salad

Sweet Potato SaladWe had our Thanksgiving potluck at the office last week and my friend Don, who is known for bringing in such unusual dishes as pasties, outdid himself.  He made what he referred to as a ‘Montana staple’ and dubbed it Sweet Potato Salad.  The team looked skeptical at first but the bravest souls took a little helping of it and dared to dry it out.  I was no exception.  I learned that being a good cook, you have to be prepared to try every new dish or flavor at least once, without fail.  Otherwise, how will you know what your palette likes or detests?  I heard someone down the table say the salad tasted ‘different’, to which Don replied “I know what that means.  When someone says that’s different, it usual means they don’t like it.”  I had to see for myself, so I took a taste and decided it was fabulous.  The sweet potatoes were complimented with green onion and some type of tangy flavored sauce.  The side dish was reminiscent of regular potato salad but with that sweet potato flavor that shouts “the holidays are here!” 

The original recipe calls for canned sweet potatoes which, even Don agrees, lends entirely too much sugar to the dish.  I made it with real sweet potatoes and adjusted the recipe slightly to make the end result a bit less mushy and with a texture more like potato salad.  It was a sure hit at the family Thanksgiving table this year and I plan to make it a Cheese House staple for years to come.  An absolute winner for your own upcoming holidays!

Sweet Potato Salad                                                                                                                adapted from Joy Fulton’s recipe as written in The Montana Cookbook

  • 1 & 1/2 pounds sweet potatoes
  • 6 hard-boiled eggs, chopped
  • 1 cup celery, fine chopped
  • 1/2 cup green onion, fine chopped
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise (we use Hellman’s light)
  • 1/3 cup Durkee’s Famous Sauce (likely in the mayo aisle)

How to Make It!

Rinse the potatoes, pat dry and wrap each in foil.  Bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes to 1 hour, or until easily pierced with a fork.  Remove and allow to cool completely before putting together the salad.   

Once the potatoes are cooled, remove the peels and chop.  Combine the potatoes and chopped egg in a large bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and allow to chill for at least an hour or two prior to serving.    Serves 6-8.

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in eggs, healthy, holiday, recipes, sauces, sides, sweet potatoes, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

