Keeping it Simple: Salmon & Creamy Mustard Sauce

Mustard SeedsOne of the quickest, easiest go-to dinners for us on a busy evening, is salmon.  It takes seconds to brush a thick piece down with olive oil, season with salt and pepper and pop it under the broiler on low, for about 5 minutes or so.  The outside edges get a touch of that crispy bit that we love, while the inside is oh-so-tender.  Try the quick sauce recipe below, adapted from Every Day with Rachel Ray, to liven up your taste buds.  (Rachel’s recipe suggests using hardboiled eggs through a sieve but I am so not a fan of this).  Throw it all on top of a bed of sautéed spinach to make the meal even healthier and a touch more delicious. 

Creamy Mustard Sauce

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3 Tablespoons white wine vinegar (we use Sweet Petite by Virginia Vinegar Works)
  • 2 teaspoons spicy mustard (we use Jack Daniels Old No. 7
  • 1 Tablespoon parsley, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ground nutmeg

How to Make It!

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and whisk together until a sauce is formed.  Serve over salmon. 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in healthy, recipes, salmon, sauces, vinegar and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

