Fancy Pork & Beans or Pork Tenderloin over Pureed White Beans

White BeansIt dawned on me halfway through making this dinner that Mr. Cheese and I were cooking a fancier take on good ole pork ‘n’ beans.  We were discussing what to eat for dinner and I already planned on pureeing some white beans to experiment for the site (and mah belly!) So we were set on carbs.  I also knew I would make a pretty big salad, but what about the meat?  I felt like “meh” when I snubbed my nose up at Mr. Cheese while he held out the teriyaki marinated pork tenderloin from the freezer.  “Meh!  Ewwww.”  Ok, so I’m not a big fan of P.T.  It just happens to go back to what I’ve said before.  I must not have eaten it when it was cooked properly, the first few times.  It was dry, leathery and just… well….meh!  I figured for this tenderloin, I would try to recall everything I read on-line, in cookbooks and watched on those cooking shows and I would not, so help me, not.over.cook.the.pork!!   

With the pork safely in the oven and the timer set and the ‘omg I cannot overcook the pork’ back-up timer, I set about making the beans.  Which leads me to one question.  Why the hell haven’t I made this before?!  Where have pureed beans been all of my life?  Oh.  Hummus.  Bean Dip.  Nevermind.  The pureed white beans can be used as a dip, sandwich spread, as a substitute for refried beans, as a bed for most any meat, and the list goes on.  They are simple, good and delicious.  Oh yeah, and the pork was cooked perfectly and tasted not so bad, either.  🙂

Pork Tenderloin

If you are not a huge fan of pork tenderloin, like me, do what I did.  Find a pre-packaged, pre-marinated pork tenderloin, but one that is in not-so-high-in-sodium marinade and purchase it.  Follow the cooking directions to a “T”.  Seriously.  Use the cooking thermometer like they recommend and even if you think the pork is a touch too pink, if it registers to 160 degrees, just take the thing out, let it set for 5 minutes before cutting and eat it already, ok?  Now, to the motherlode recipe….choir please…”aaaahhhh”

Pureed White Beans

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 14.8 ounce can of white beans (we use Goya brand)
  • 1/4 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon chives, chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon garlic, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary, chopped
  • 4 Tablespoons white cooking winepureed beans are AWESOME!!
  • 1/3 cup vegetable broth

How to Make It!

In a small sauce pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat and sweat the onion and garlic until the onion appears transparent.  Add the wine and let cook for about 3-4 minutes, then add the vegetable broth.  Once it warms to a bubble, turn heat down to low and let simmer for about 10 minutes.  Add the beans, stir to combine and let simmer another 5-10 minutes.  Add all seasonings, stir to combine and add entire mixture to a blender or food processor and puree.  I found the ingredient amounts above, to be perfect.  we did not add any extra salt or pepper and no extra vegetable broth was needed for moisture.  You may wish to add more broth, as needed, to suit desired consistency.  Serves 4 as a side or 2 for a main dish. 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in beans, food, garlic, healthy, how-to, pork, recipes, sides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

