Lemonheads! Save Dough & Make Your Own Lemon Pound Cake.

I originally began research to make my own lemon pound cake from scratch, for my son, Soldier Cheese.  He surprised us all and enlisted in the United States Army during his senior year of high school, so I knew he would be gone after he graduated, to basic training, AIT, and then wherever they posted him.  One thing I knew he loved and would miss during his time away?  The lemon pound cake at Starbucks.  Damn that boy loved his pound cake.  Not to knock Starbucks because I love them as much as the next guy, but each peice is a bit pricey, not to mention if you put a piece of the cake on a napkin for a minute then remove it, you will note some grease left on the napkin.  This recipe will leave you with a less greasy cake altogether, more cash in your pocket but unfortunately if you make it enough, it may also leave you with more fat on your, well, you know. 

So I began research and found a recipe in the Joy of Cooking but it wasn’t quite what I was looking for.  I saved it and bent it up but kept looking.  Found a couple on the Food Network’s site and tweaked those along with the original one from the Joy of Cooking and it still wasn’t quite right.  The overall process took about five different cooking efforts until I got the ingredients quite right to taste like the Starbucks cake.  And it is unbelievable.  Tart and sweet and light and rich.  Just divine.  The family didn’t complain at all during the experimentation process and would even ask “when are you trying it again?”  I never did package any up to send to Soldier Cheese while away serving our country.  But the good news is if I want to, at least I have a good recipe for it.   Variation:  For Orange Pound Cake, simply substitute all of the lemony ingredients for orange.  ie:  use orange zest, orange juice, etc. 

Lemon Pound Cake

  • 6 ounces low-fat lemon yogurt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, unsalted and softened
  • 3 cups all-purpose flourlemon pound cake
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 5 large eggs
  • zest of 4 lemons, finely grated
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  •   

    Icing:

  • 2 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • about 2-3 Tablespoons lemon juice

How to Make It!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, with rack in lowest position.  Use butter or non-stick spray to grease two 4 & 1/2 x 8 inch loaf pans and dust with flour.  In a small bowl, combine yogurt, lemon zest and juice.  In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder and soda. 

Cream butter and sugar by hand, in a large bowl, until combined.  Add eggs one at a time, mixing well by hand, after each addition.  Add flour to the butter and sugar mixture, one third at a time, alternately with the yogurt, mixing by hand.  Be careful not to over mix.  Pour evenly into loaf pans, smoothing the tops.  Cook for 50-60 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes. 

Place cakes on wax paper and poke a few holes in each, with a toothpick, then drizzle with icing.  May take 2 coats to cover evenly.   Yields 2 cakes

To Make the Icing

Mix the confectioner’s sugar and lemon juice for the glaze.  The consistency should be thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in baking, food, fruit, lemons, links, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemonheads! Save Dough & Make Your Own Lemon Pound Cake.

  1. Melissa says:

    Looks delicious, now send the boy some cake!

  2. bigsischeese says:

    Damn, Becky… For someone on her way to getting smaller and smaller, your recipes are sure no help! BUT, thanks to other family members NOT dieting, they’ll be happy that I have a sister who actually CAN do great things with food! Can’t wait to try this! Love you, kid! Keep up the yummy experiments!

Leave a Reply

