Does This Calzone Make My Ass Look Big?

hot dogMy dietary intake has been horrendous, lately.   Not with food that tastes horrible, but with amazing food that is horrible for the waistline.  Friday I skipped eating altogether until about mid-afternoon at Maggiano’s, where I attended a ‘ladies lunch’.  A handful of ladies got together to celebrate the upcoming birth of a co-worker’s first child.  The idea of waiting was brilliance on my end, as we ate ‘family style’.  This is when the platter can be almost empty and PRESTO!  CHANGO!  Another shiny, new platter arrives full of the same delicious food.  This is my style of eating.  Later that night I needed a snack of sorts so I nuked a hot dog.  Very healthy, I know.  At least it was Nathan’s

Saturday we went out to the mountains and rather than cook or picnic, we bought pizza and calzones.  They were unbelievable.  For Sunday I had this chicken dinner planned, but Mr. Cheese asked me to the movies – spur of the moment.  Initial panic sets in.  “What about dinner?”  I ask him.  We decide to figure it out later.  The movie got out pretty late so after a bucket and a big mac’s worth of popcorn, I ended up nuking a hot dog.  Yes, it was Nathan’s, but that’s not the point.  So you see, my diet has been less than healthy as of late. 

the new california cookLast night I tried out a recipe from one of the gazillion cookbooks I have.  They’re on the shelf, might as well breeze through them, right?  I modified it just a bit and threw in the spinach and tomatoes for kicks.  A perfectly delicious, healthy meal.  Adapted from the New California Cook.

Chicken with Garlic & Lime 

  • 1 Tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut in half
  • 2 whole heads of garlic, cloves separated but unpeeled
  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice                              garlic
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • ¼ cup heavy whipping cream
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Spinach base

  • 4 cups fresh spinach leaves
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon sun-dried tomatoes
  • Salt 

How to Make It!

Melt the butter with the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat and brown the chicken breasts for about 5 minutes on each side.  Remove and set aside.  Add the garlic to the pan and brown for about 4-5 minutes (the peels will come out later, during straining).  Add the lime juice and chicken stock and deglaze the pan (scrape up any cooked bits from the pan).  Bring to a boil then reduce heat to a simmer, cover and let cook for about 15 to 20 minutes until the garlic is cooked and tender.  

Put the garlic mixture in a blender and puree.  Strain through a sieve to remove the skins, the return the liquid to the pan.  Add the cream and the chicken to the pan, keeping the heat at about medium.  Cook for about 5 minutes or so, until the chicken is cooked through.  Taste and add salt and pepper, as needed.  

mmmm cooking

 

While the chicken is cooking, heat some olive oil in a sauté pan over medium-high heat, then add the spinach.  Cook for about 8-10 minutes, then add the sun-dried tomatoes and cook just until heated.  Add salt to taste.  Plate spinach, top with chicken and drizzle sauce on top.  Sprinkle with fresh parsley.  Serves 2.  

sauteeing spinach

garlic & lime chicken

TIP:  We had enough chicken left over to make chicken salad.  Cut it up, mix it with mayo, walnuts and celery for a limey-garlic chicken salad. 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in chicken, food, garlic, healthy, lime, recipes, sauces, sides, spinach, tomatoes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Does This Calzone Make My Ass Look Big?

  1. Melissa says:

    That looks good and all, but I would never turn down a good calzone.

  2. bigsischeese says:

    The dinner looks yummy (except the spinach)! LOL I was so thinking, when I read the title, that you had a recipe for calzone! hehehehe… Love you, sis!

Leave a Reply

