Farewell Summer ~ Let’s Eat Hawaiin Chicken!

autumnal equinoxThe equinox is upon us and alas, tomorrow will be fall.  (Or, tonight by 11:15pm if you want to get all sciency about it).  Combine a sweet and tangy marinade and some nice time outdoors this evening by the grill, and you’ve got the perfect farewell to summer.  Our daughter in college makes this frequently, often without the bread to save carbs.  Switch it up and enjoy it over a small bed of brown rice.  Served with a cucumber and tomato salad or some crisp mixed greens on the side, this makes a lovely ‘farewell to summer’ meal.  

Hawaiian Chicken      

  •  1 1/2 pounds chicken breastsFresh Pineapple
  • 1 1/2 cups teriyaki marinade, (recipe below)
  • 1/2 pound thin sliced deli ham
  • 6 slices provolone cheese
  • 2 Tablespoon butter
  • 1 can pineapple slices, no sugar added
  • optional – 6 kaiser rolls, rice, etc.

Teriyaki Marinade

  • 2 Tablespoons minced garlic
  • 1 cup olive oil   
  • 3/4 cup pineapple juice, no added sugar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce (an original fermented sauce-who knew?) 

How To Make It!

For the marinade, mix all ingredients together and set aside.  

Using a meat tenderizer, pound the chicken until about 1/4 inch thick. Place in a large plastic bag, such as a freezer or storage bag, add marinade and let chill in the refrigerator for several hours, preferably overnight.   Grill the chicken breasts, or fry on stove top. While the chicken is cooking, melt the butter in a small frying pan and cook pineapples over medium heat until lightly browned on each side. 

To assemble, top the chicken with pineapple, ham, then provolone cheese. Place under broiler just long enough to melt the provolone. Place on a Kaiser roll, a bed of rice, or enjoy alone.  Serves 6

 

 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in chicken, food, fruit, Grilling, marinades, pineapple, recipes, rice, sandwiches and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

