Ode to the Redskins ‘Victory Chili’

 victory chiliI posted this recipe a couple of seasons ago but it’s a perfect standby for a gorgeous football Sunday.  Better yet, make it today to the sound of touchdowns and field goals while screaming “sack him!” and let the flavors meld overnight.  Re-heat tomorrow night to enjoy to the ‘Skins and Eagles game and cheer on the home team.  Try some homemade tortilla chips to dip, while you’re at it. 
Homemade Tortilla Chips
  • 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 package corn tortillas
  • sea salt
How to Make It!
Brush each tortilla lightly with oil on each side, then stack them all on top of each other.  Cut into halves, then quarters, then eights.  Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet and sprinkle with sea salt.  Bake at 350 degrees until crisp and lightly golden brown.  Serves a handful of hungry football fans.  Less if they’re drinking. 
Original Post:  I made this chili on Sunday in preparation for the nail-biting exhibition that was the Redskins‘ victory over Dallas. They really won?! Yes. Yes, they did. And the homemade chili that was inhaled while we watched the game was spectacular. I used the sausage that my friend Emily brought back for us from her (probably almost famous) butcher. So.Very.Delicious.  

 ‘Victory’ Chili  

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, small dice
  • 1 red pepper, small dice
  • 1 pound smoked beef sausage, cut into bite-size pieces
  • 28 ounces crushed tomatoes (I used an additional tomato from the Harvest festival)
  • 14 ounce can of red kidney beans (not a fan, but okay camouflaged by other stuff)
  • 1 Tablespoon molasses
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 Tablespoon + chili powder (to taste)
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed (omg this stuff is so good in tuna!)
  • 1 bay leaf

How to Make It!

In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat and cook the onion, pepper and sausage until the onion is transparent. Stir in the tomatoes, beans, molasses, broth and bay leaf and bring to a bubble. Turn the heat down to low and let simmer for 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally. Add all of the dry seasonings and stir to combine, then let simmer for at least another 30 minutes prior to serving. I forgot to take the bay leaf out prior to folks eating it, (I do this often) so I hope no one got it. eeks. Garnish with shredded cheese, crackers, sour cream, whatever strikes you. Go ‘skins!!   Serves 4-6

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in beans, beef, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

