I’m Strong to the Finish Cuz I Eats my Spinach (Pie!)

spinach pieThat’s right!  Despite the odds and Bluto’s obvious height advantage over Popeye, Bluto always got his ass kicked because Popeye ate his spinach like the good cartoon guy he was.  Spinach is excellent for our bodies, with over 21 vitamins and a healthy dose of iron.  It is also a remarkably versatile food, as it can be eaten raw in salads, with eggs or in sandwiches and can be steamed, sautéed or added to any number of soups, casseroles or meat dishes.  

This recipe is one of our ‘go to’ meals, especially during the work week when the hustle and bustle have us too busy to spend a lot of time in the kitchen, but we still want the nutrients and heart of a home cooked meal.  Mr. Cheese started making this spinach pie for us many years ago, after we experimented with spanikopita and wanted to achieve the same taste on busy nights, but in a hurry and without all the fuss.  It has just four ingredients that work in such harmony together, they don’t really need additional seasoning.  Perfect with a small salad and even better with a glass of Pinot.  

Mr. Cheese’s Spinach Pie

  • 8 ounces of feta cheese, crumbledraw yumminess
  • 2 cups of cooked spinach, chopped
  • 8 eggs**
  • 9″ deep dish pie crust  

Scramble the eggs in a bowl, then add the spinach and feta and combine.  Pour into the pie crust and let settle, tapping on the counter a time or two to remove bubbles at the top if there are any.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until the top is browned and the pie is cooked through.  Serves 4 to 6

**If you are watching that gorgeous waistline, substitute 2 egg whites for each whole egg or try Egg Beaters

 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in cheese, eggs, healthy, recipes, spinach, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Strong to the Finish Cuz I Eats my Spinach (Pie!)

  1. This looks like a delightful meal, definitely great as a go-to. I love simplicity in food, and I don’t think it can get much simpler (or more delicious) than a spinach pie!

  2. Pingback: (Not Quite) Quiche with Bacon, Leeks & Sun-dried Tomatoes | tossing the swiss around

Leave a Reply

