To Masala or Not to Masala

spicesMy buddy and I were chatting at the office yesterday and he asked what I would cook over the weekend.  I am trying out Aarti‘s Masala recipe on Sunday, for my husband’s return from his business trip.  So my buddy, who is from India, tells me he can make a mean chicken masala and begins to run down the recipe as I scramble for a piece of paper and pen.  I hear things like “cut the chicken”, “dice onions”, but I am really listening for the spice mixture that is a true masala, which according to Wikipedia, is a mixture of spices used in Indian and South Asian cooking.  Garam masala is a blend leaning toward the ‘hot’ or spicy side.  I understand the other ingredients like chicken, tomatoes, etc., may go into the dish, but I want to know what spices make up the masala, specifically.  So this Sunday will be my Great Masala Experiment.  I will do my research, gather my spices and begin the task of creating my own, personal masala spice blend.  Ok, so maybe I won’t be making Aarti’s masala.  Stay tuned. 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in herbs & spices and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

