fiber schmiber (or healthy turkey tacos)

turkey tacos  “You need to eat more fiber.”  This is coming from my new doctor who cannot possibly be older than 25 and wears chucks to the office.  I have to say, his wearing of those black and white chucks is one of the main reasons Mr. Cheese and I keep going back.  So while the good doc is droning on and on about fiber that and soluble this and gassy that, all that I see in my head are visions of dancing prunes,  Wheat Thins, cereal bars, Metamucil and well, you get the picture.  

“Not quite”, says Dr. Chucks.     

He reiterates the difference between soluble and insoluble and why the goal is to increase my intake of the insoluble stuff.  Then he names off various things that are chock full of it, such as the skin of potatoes, apples, dark and darker leafy greens, etc.  He has no idea what he has created.  I go home and announce to Mr. Cheese that I have to “eat more fiber, damnit!”  Now, Mr. Cheese is committed.  He’s the kind of guy that will have Mittelschmerz out of sympathy for me, if it were possible.  He is ready.for.fiber.   

I am coached by Mr. Cheese that night while we’re in the store, picking out apples and reading labels.  “Yeah, that’s got 2 grams!”  Or, “Nah, only 1 gram per serving, so you’d have to eat half the box.”  The next afternoon I learn he’d done research on fiber and found out that black beans pack twice the nutritional punch, as they carry loads of fiber and protein.  This is where I pull the “let me off” cord.  Mr. Cheese goes back to the store, buys black beans and insists on cooking them Sunday.  So I had to eat them at lunch yesterday.  And incorporate them into dinner last night.  And I have enough to include in the next 6 meals.  Anybody want some?  Anybody want ALL OF THEM?!    

So by now, you’re wondering where the Healthy Turkey Tacos come into play.   

Right now!  We are big fans of using lean ground turkey when possible, so we added a cup of the black beans to the taco meat and damn, those tacos rocked!   

Black Beans  

  • 1 lb. black beans
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • ½ large, sweet onion, finely chopped
  • ½ cup ham, small diced
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 Tbsp. cumin

 How to Make It!  

Soak and cook the beans according to package directions.  Cook the onions in the olive oil over medium heat until soft.  Add the onions, ham and seasoning to the beans.  Cover and let simmer 4-6 hours.  (apparently, I prefer my beans pretty soft).  Serves 6-8.  

Healthy Turkey Tacos   

  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • ½ large, sweet onion, finely chopped
  • 1 ¼ lb. lean ground turkey
  • 4 Tbsp. taco seasoning
  • 1/3 cup water
  • ½ tsp. cumin
  • ¼ tsp. allspice
  • 4 Tbsp. chipotle salsa*
  • 1 cup black beans
  • Salt & pepper to taste 
  • 10 crunchy taco shells 
  • 8 oz. cheddar or mexican blend cheese, shredded
  • Toppings such as shredded lettuce, diced tomato, sour cream, guacamole, corn, etc.  taco toppings

* if you don’t have chipotle salsa, add ¼ chipotle pepper, fine diced, ½ small tomato, fine chop, 1 tsp. cilantro, chopped, and 2 Tbsp. lime juice.     

How to Make It!   

Put the olive oil in a large frying pan, add the onion and cook (or sweat) over medium heat until translucent.  Add the ground turkey and cook through.  Drain the grease off, then add the water, salsa, beans and seasonings.  Let simmer over low heat for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.    

Using a slotted spoon, fill each taco shell about ½ full, being careful to let the juices drain off, prior to putting in the shell.  Otherwise, the shell will get soggy and fall apart as you try to eat.  Place the tacos in a shallow baking dish and top them each with shredded cheese.  Bake at 345 degrees for 3-5 minutes, or until cheese is melted.  Enjoy toppings of choice!  Serves 5.

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in beans, ground turkey, healthy, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to fiber schmiber (or healthy turkey tacos)

  1. Trina says:

    Sounds soooo delicious!!! Tacos are BY FAR my favorite food!! 🙂 Yummmm. Miss you guys! Love the blog! Hook a sista up with a recipe involving squash… like squash cassarole or something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

