Corn, Vinegar and Beer, Oh My

Living on the east coast, we appreciate those summer days with no humidity, clear skies and low 80 degree temperatures.  We spent a recent Saturday driving west to Outofdodge and happened upon a little gas station.  Mr. Cheese went in to grab some drinks and then we decided to check out the produce stand on the corner.  produce standThis stand was run by three local yocals, one of which asked me if I’d ever tested corn’s freshness “this way”.  He grabs an ear, peels the husk and silk back and says “take a bite!”  Skeptical but curious, I let him hold the corn out for me while I took a bite of this fresh from the ground, not-yet-cooked corn.  It was the best damn corn I ever tasted.  Ever.  I got a quick flash of my local grocers in their farmer’s hats, pulling ears too early out of the ground, at their local farms.  Offering chewy, hard corn compared to this light, sweet, super-crisp treat.  We buy half a dozen, noting that this little produce stand is not too far from home, if we need to buy more.  As we checked out, the farmer gave us a tidbit on cooking the corn. 

 Farmer’s Grilled Corn on the Cob

Soak the corn in a can of beer, some vinegar and water for at least 2 hours, but preferably 4 hours.  Then grill, in the husk, for about 10 minutes on each side.  

He promised it to be the best corn we ever had.  I thought that when I tried the fresh-from-the-ground sample, but couldn’t wait to test his recipe out. 

Big Cheese Review & Revisions

Sorry, let me scrape the corn kernels off my chin so I can type.  Damn!  Some very fabulous corn, that is!  I tried it without butter first and recognized an almost malty taste.  The ear was heavy and saturated with the soaking liquid, but the kernels were as light and crisp as we hoped.  I might twist the farmer’s already delicious recipe to provide a baseline and highlight all the sweetness of his amazing product.  

Grilled Corn on the Cob

  • 6 ears fresh, sweet corn on the cob, in the husk
  • 1 cup white vinegar
  • 16 oz. beer
  • Water
  • ¼ cup Old Bay
  • Butter (optional)

Trim the ends of each corn husk and set aside.  Combine the next four ingredients in a large pot and let soak for 2-4 hours.  Shake off excess liquid, place over grill and cook for 10 minutes on each side.  Cool for 5 minutes or so, season with butter to taste.  Serves 6. 

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Grilling, recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

