Winner, winner chicken dinner.

 

Admit it, we all get tired of the same old stuff to eat.  Those old, stale recipes handed down from Grandma or Aunt Suzie.  Corn casserole, oven-fried chicken, you get the jist.  We were thinking of something tangy, but wholesome and full of protein.  It would be ideal to have all of the needed ingredients sitting right in the pantry, too!  No last-minute run to the grocery for this girl.  Mr. Cheese likes to roast our chickens in those oven bags, while I am perfectly content at roasting them all at 350 degrees for 30 minutes per pound.  Some say baste, some don’t.  I, my friend, am a baster.   This simple recipe is sweet but savory and is crazy-good.  It’s so easy, you can even throw it together in the morning before running out the door to work and let it marinade all day.  Toss it in the oven when you get home – divine.  

Roasted Balsamic Chicken

  • 1 whole 5-6 lb. chicken
  • 1 medium sweet onion, such as Vidalia
  • 2 stalks of celery 
  • ¼ cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 2 Tablespoons stone ground mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon minced garlic
  • ½ teaspoon crushed rosemary
  • salt & pepper to taste

How to Make It!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and position a rack so the chicken will sit directly in the middle of the oven.  Remove the inner pouch (gizzards, etc.) from the chicken, then rinse the chicken inside and out and pat dry.  Set aside.  Rough chop the onion and celery and place them on the bottom of a roasting pan.   

In a small bowl, mix the vinegar, oil, juice, mustard and seasonings together.  At this point, I don a plastic baggie on one of my hands.  Use your fingers to pry the skin away from the flesh of the chicken, on the breasts and backside.  Rub the marinade between the skin and flesh then rub the marinade inside of the chicken.  Use the remaining marinade to coat the rest of the chicken, being careful to fully cover the legs and wing tips. 

Place the chicken in the roasting pan, on top of the chopped vegetables.  Roast in the oven for 30-32 minutes per pound, basting with the chicken’s own juices 2- 3 times while cooking.  When the chicken is about ¾ done, loosely cover with aluminum foil if you feel the wing tips may dry out.  Serves 4 to 6

About tossingtheswissaround

I have been obsessed with food since I can remember. I grew up watching the Frugal Gourmet and Julia Childs in black and white repeats on TV. I made an elementary version of veal parmesan when I was all of 8 years old and even concocted a homemade version of vomit to drizzle along the hallway and oh-so-carefully in the bathroom so I could get of school whenever I wanted. Dad never caught on but I eventually came clean about that vomit recipe. About two years ago. My skills have greatly improved and my obsession has only deepened as the years go by. In the mornings, I ask my co-workers what’s for lunch, what they ate last night and what is on the menu tonight. I groan when I eat almost anything I like because I can barely contain my excitement. Because, well, because it’s food! I was technically trained and once worked as a formal chef but physically that takes its toll so I joined the much less strenuous, albeit entertaining, world of HR. Food is still at the forefront of my mind as I continue to cook and love all things food. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in chicken, marinades, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winner, winner chicken dinner.

  1. Jodi says:

    Wow!!!!!! you inspire even the loser non-chefs like me to want to pick up a flat-handled thing you flip things in the kitchen with 🙂 I might actually make something.

Leave a Reply

